Copper Cliff, an area centred on Godfrey Drive and Creighton Road running south to Regional Road 55, was incorporated as a separate company town in 1901, and for a time was larger than the neighbouring community of Sudbury. However, Sudbury had surpassed Copper Cliff in population by 1930 when it was reincorporated as a city. The city of Sudbury attempted to annex Copper Cliff a number of times over the next 40 years, but was rebuffed by the Ontario Municipal Board because the city’s desire to gain municipal taxation rights over Inco’s mining facilities in the community was deemed incompatible with federal and provincial taxation rules around the mining industry.The neighbourhood was eventually annexed by the city in 1973 as part of the provincially mandated municipal restructuring which resulted in the creation of the Regional Municipality of Sudbury.
This area also includes the micro neighbourhood of Little Italy nestled at the base of the Inco Superstack. Centred on Diorite Street and Craig Street, the area is reminiscent of Italy, with its tiny winding streets and charm. The Societá italiana di Copper Cliff (Italian Club) is one of the oldest social clubs in the area.